ellie <3 libraries

sooooo much!

TLA Conference – Saturday, April 14th, 2007 April 18, 2007

Filed under: Conferences,TLA 2007 — ellie @ 5:47 pm
Tags: ,

tla07.jpgLast day! And it definitely started off right with coffee and bagels at the Automation and Technology Round Table Business Meeting (8:00 – 9:50 AM). I got to meet the officers, talk about how this conference had went and what we might want to do next time. The Net Fair was a great success. Richard’s Keeping Up with Technology was particularly well attended.

12:00-12:50 PM
Keeping Up with Technology: New Trends and Terminology

This is the third year in a row that we have examined the top library technology trends in the nation as well as Texas specifically. Learn what these top trends are and how they might impact your library. In addition, we will discuss some of the various terms and acronyms that have entered our technical vocabulary during the course of the past year.
Richard Wayne, UT Southwestern Medical Library.

But the Technology Showcases were more problematic. There were (ironically) issues with the technology and getting internet connections. We also discussed how we might get more turnout, though it was thought that even very small sessions were good since the vendor could do individualized pitches.

I mentioned how good the search engine presentation had been and that I would love to see her back. I also said I would like to see a program more geared to specific uses of Web 2.0 technologies. I’ve heard a lot about how we need to use them because our patrons are using them, and about how cool they are, but not as much about the wonderful information opportunities they present. There still seems to be a certain amount of “it’s all so much glitter.” I’d like to see more examples of putting specific small things to really good use (like creating custom search engines and adding them to your subject page). I’ll be the first to admit that I thought, “Why would we need a library podcast? And who would listen to it?” But I was answered by my visit to the Westerville Public Library home page where I saw that it podcasts its story time. I would love to see a collection of these small adoptions of Web 2.0. I may have volunteered myself.

The business meeting ran long. I popped over to:

10:00 – 11:50 AM
Library Technology for New Generations with Marshall Breeding
Welcome to a new phase of innovation in library automation that responds to growing demands from Web-savvy users. The speaker reviews business and technology trends and offers his thoughts on the future.
Marshall Breeding, director for innovative technologies and research, Vanderbilt University Library
(Nashville, TN). Sponsored by the Conference Program Committee.

It seemed awfully back-end, so I then headed to see our very own Julie at:

10:00 – 11:50 AM
Applying the Power of Personal Persuasion to Market Academic Libraries with Julie Todaro

Academic libraries are reassessing, rebranding, and re-marketing. This program introduces techniques and strategies for all levels of professionals to use in advocating for their library’s mission. Attendees will receive ACRL’s new toolkit on personal persuasion. A business meeting follows the program.
Julie B. Todaro, dean of library services, Austin Community College. Sponsored by the College and University Libraries Division.

The pdf of the ACRL toolkit is available online. I also have a copy of the handout. Both were so thorough that I didn’t take many notes.

My notes:

  • Answering the phone, “What can I do for you?” Positioning yourself as support and for reciprocation.
  • This is what we have for your discipline.
  • Position self as resident expert.
  • Be part of the social network.
  • Ask to be on department list-servs for subject area. (I don’t think Julie said this one, but it came to mind as something I might want to do from something she said.)

After Julie’s presentation I stayed for the CULD membership meeting. We talked about programs for next year, perhaps covering free and open source tools and the possibility of doing a hands on pre-conference at a computer lab in a school or public library. I mentioned that ATRT also wanted to do something hands on and would probably love to co-sponsor something like that. Another program I would love to see is one on teaching technology to underexposed users, people who are new to computers in general.

After the meeting I headed back to Austin for the Zilker Park Cactus show. It did not disappoint!

 

Leave a Reply

