ellie <3 libraries

sooooo much!

ALA Conference – Tuesday, June 26th, 2007 July 3, 2007

Filed under: ALA 2007,Conferences — ellie @ 6:02 pm
Tags: ,

I simply could not get myself out of bed in time, so I’m sorry I missed:

Closing Session Featuring Garrison Keillor
Garrison Keillor Garrison Keillor is the author of more than a dozen books, including Lake Wobegon Days, The Book of Guys, Love Me and Homegrown Democrat. He is also the creator, host and writer of A Prairie Home Companion and The Writer’s Almanac heard on public radio stations across the country. He was born in Anoka, MN in 1942 and graduated from the University of Minnesota. He lives in St. Paul with his wife and daughter, and has two grandsons. He won a Grammy Award for Best Spoken Word, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts & Letters. 2006 marked the release of the film, A Prairie Home Companion as well as the independent bookstore that Garrison opened in St. Paul, Common Good Books.

But I did get to explore the vendor hall a little further and run into Jenny Levine again. I again declined the Wii, though this time the line was too long anyway. But my issue is this – when I was growing up we made fun of people who moved the controller when they played. I like to sit and push the buttons, all this moving around is unnatural. (Though the new Harry Potter game where the controller is your wand is enticing.) This time we wound up in one of those “oh remember” conversations that’s basically just a list of old video games. I’ve found my generation falls into that pattern when discussing cartoons incredibly often. And in fact that’s exactly what my friend and I did as we walked away from the booth.

I picked up plenty of catalogs and a few of you have gotten some that I picked up with you in mind.

After lunch I was lucky enough to get a personal tour through the Library of Congress. I took a few notes, mostly in the map room, and lots of pictures. Sadly, only with my cellphone’s camera, but you can view the gallery if you’re so inclined.

The map department has over 5 million maps. They’ve just acquired the Martin Waldseemuller 1507 world map – “America’s birth certificate” – the first map to say America. They have a very impressive map copier/scanner and their storage runs a whole city block. They get 70,000 new maps a year and handle 16,000 reference questions just in the map department. The majority come from the internet. They have an internal circulation of 50,000 items.

I got to see a map in George Washington’s hand that was his working map of his property at Mt. Vernon from 1760-1799. I learned that globes used to always come in pairs – a celestial and a terrestrial. I got to see the underground book conveyor belts.

I also learned that the police monitor all the cases and if the humidity level is off there is a beeper team of conservators that get called in.

I entered one of the galleries and saw a sign that said “turn ON your phones”. They offer an audio cell phone tour and provide an 800 number for you to call for the tour.

 

Leave a Reply

