ellie <3 libraries

sooooo much!

Tuesday – A Day In The Life Of A Librarian January 27, 2010

Filed under: meme — ellie @ 3:55 pm
Tags:

Tuesdays are particularly atypical this semester. One of the perks of my job is that we are given 3 free classes a year. This semester I’m taking Cabinetry I from 9am-2pm on Tuesdays. In reality the class lets out at a good stopping point in the project rather than a set time. Then I run home, walk the dog, get a shower, come to the office, work until 9pm and make up any extra hours during the week.

This week we took the whole time, so I got in around 3pm. I replied to some emails, took a scheduled call with a vendor who was trying to fix some issues with my selection lists and read some reviews.

Then I had 2 hours on the reference desk, mostly copy machine help, more textbook questions and a few leisure reading ones.

Next up was a meeting with an iSchool student. I typically enjoy doing these types of informational interviews and this was no exception. I was planning on only doing Monday of library day in the life this time round, but I mentioned the project to her and she was so excited about it that I’m now recommitted to how valuable it is. We ended up talking for about 2 hours including the tour of the library, which left me with a half an hour that I spent reading reviews before heading home.

I also wanted to take a moment to put out an alternate work/life balance than the ones I’ve run into on the admittedly few posts I’ve read from friends that participate in the project. I viciously guard my work/life balance. I work 40 hours a week. I make sure I put in all of my time and I make sure my work gets done, but I do not work off the clock. I’m not 100% perfect on this, but I’m pretty strict. I run my work email through my main gmail account, so I do sometimes check my mail from home – partially because sometimes I forget to change the “from” email away from the work one and personal email winds up with my acc tag and partially because I’m curious and can’t help it. I will sometimes clear out list-serv emails, but I will not answer work email off the clock. Sometimes I need to stay late to get something done or to help out, but that means I’m leaving early or coming in late some other day. I consider any library organization activity part of my professional duties and either make them fit into my workflow or decline them. Being a librarian is my job and I love it immensely, but it is not my whole life.

 

Leave a Reply

