ellie <3 libraries

sooooo much!

Teaching Journal March 11, 2010

Filed under: teaching journal — ellie @ 11:39 pm

This was a Comp 1 class and they all had topics. Right there, that’s makes a class go so much better. I had met with the teacher ahead of time and limited what I would cover to: (1) Introduction to library databases, (2) Evaluation of websites, and (3) Difference between scholarly and popular information.

I used a handout that I have used before, but need to modify (need to add space for the who would care exercise). I started with the intro schpiel about the library and moved on to my think/pair/share about keywords and then about who would care about their information. Both went well.

I did a lot better monitoring my time this go round and we got sidetracked talking citations, but many students listed that as the most helpful thing on their evals, so I’m glad I took the time.

I should have been set up a little earlier, but overall, this was a great class.

I need to familiarize myself with our research guides better, so I would have been prepared to explain how the Biology one was set up a little differently than some of the others.

I also need to remember to count the students for stats.

 

Leave a comment